Skip to content

SHOPPING SHORTLIST: gorgeous knits

October 5, 2010

I’m busy calling in some bits and pieces to style a house in my native Somerset at the end of the week  – it’s for our February issue so I’m having fun choosing lots of gorgeous textured knits. Very timely too as it’s Wool Week this month – you’ve probably noticed that our November issue is packed with cosy buys galore. I’ve picked my favourites as I’ve been choosing accessories for my house shoot and thought a bit of a round-up is in in order.

Vita cushion, £25; Vita blanket, £80, both John Lewis

Kicking things off, some lovely bobbly knits from the lovely people at John Lewis - you’d usually think of using knitted cushions and throws in a living room but this shot proves they’d add a really snuggly feel to a bedroom too. Personally I love layering natural colours so you can really appreciate all the varied textures properly, but for my shoot on Friday I need a little more colour, so am mixing in some of these cushions too:

Knitted cushions, £25 each, Marks & Spencer

This muted, denim blue is really popular this season and mixes beautifully with almost anything, from steely greys to zingy sulphur yellow.

Welsh brown wool cushion, £60; Jacob pebble knit cushion, £135, both Damson & Slate

Off to sunny Wales next – I’m especially keen on the rustic pebbly cushion on the right made from Jacob sheep wool (my Mum’s just got four Jacob lambs to add to her little collection of farmyard animals – apparently they’re for eating but I reckon using them to make blankets and cushions is a much better plan!) Sticking with the Celtic connection, how about some super-cosy bits from the new collection at Toast?

Lace Stitch socks, £39, Toast

Any friends and relatives reading, I’ll have the aubergine and grey ones in my stocking please – or just as a stocking I guess! Now, brace yourself for a gratuitous cute animal pic to seamlessly lead us onto my final buy…

I’m off on my annual trip to the beautiful Lake District at the end of the month (can’t wait) and love meeting these adorable Herdwick sheep on long rainly walks o’er hill and dale. I’d love to own one of these hand-woven Herdwick throws

Herdwick wool honeycomb throw, £245, Maxemilia at Folksy

There are only five available so you’ll need to be quick! I’ll be back next week with some sneak peaks from Ideal Home’s Complete Guide to Christmas – watch this space!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

