Skip to content

BEHIND THE SCENES: a brush with fame!

November 25, 2010

So, can anyone guess who wins the title of Britain’s longest-serving  interiors celeb? Kirsty? Phil? Beeny? Nope. Now about to enter his 50th year gracing our tv screens, the winner is…

Yes, that’s me (on the left!) with none other than the world famous Dulux dog, currently a hairy fellow named Spud who I met at Dulux‘s latest launch on Tuesday! Cool or what!? As well as celebrating 50 years of their brand icon, they were introducing their new innovations for 2011 and their prediction for the key colour for spring/summer 2011, the ever so slightly scary Forest Falls. Although I’m not usually one for ultra-brights, there’s no denying that the colour looks great used like this.

I suppose that’s one way to make sure you’re wide awake when you sit down at your desk in the morning!

Working with a colour as vibrant as this seems a bit daunting, but the trick is to give as good as you get and team it with equally bold shades. This green reminds me of a visit to the wonderful La Boca area of Buenos Aires a few years ago where all the houses in the main street are painted in amazing daring shades – and it works!

Photographs: all Flikr

So go on, break all the rules!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2010 1:25 am

    Here’s my story of filming a commercial with the Dulux Dog – almost a disaster: http://wp.me/p14oWI-2n

  2. April 21, 2011 1:29 am

    Yes! I agree working with color is daunting. While I create colorful things , I am still trying to find inspiration to come out of the neutrals that my home is decorated it. When I come across images like this I am wow! Iwant to do something fast :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

