Skip to content

SNEAKY PEEK: Inspiring Moodboards

June 8, 2010

I love seeing how people plan their homes and was lucky enough to have a sneaky peek at the cuttings and swatches Georgie used to put together the scheme for her house in south west London
I’ve just moved into my first home, so have been busy making some moodboards of my own. We make them all the time in the office to show the Editor our ideas for shoots, but creating them for yourself is a really useful way to get all the things that inspire you in one place and as your plans start to take shape you can add fabric and wallpaper swatches, paint samples and pictures of pieces you already have

Start by laying everything out on the floor (crikey my floor looks orange in these pics!) or a table and sort out the things that really sum up the look you want to create. I want my living room to be all about soft greys (the room’s really sunny so I can get away with some quite cool colours) with a mix of contemporary high-gloss furniture and vintage accessories. Tear pages out of magazines, print out pictures of furniture and accessories from websites or cut them out of catalogues and use tester pots to paint up swatches so you can put ‘true’ colours together

I like to start with a cork pinboard – this one was £2.49 from Wilkinsons and I gave it a quick lick of paint as colours are usually easier to judge against a white background. Arm yourself with some drawing pins and start attaching some of the larger pictures and bigger swatches, like wallpapers or curtain fabrics. Pins are better than glue or tape because it makes it easier when you change your mind and you can take swatches off when you go shopping. Cut out pictures of larger bits of furniture so you can get an idea of how the shapes work and put things together that will sit together in the room, like paint swatches with wallpaper

Done! Even though I’ve been turning ideas for my living room over in my mind for ages it’s really good to see how it can work as a whole. I don’t think any of the grey paints look right with my lovely Cole & Son Mimosa wallpaper though so the hunt for ‘the perfect grey’ continues… more clinical trials to follow!


Leave a Reply

