Skip to content

MEET THE PHOTOGRAPHER: Jamie Mason

July 2, 2010

Jamie Mason. Simon Whitmore‘s old assistant. Shot Marie‘s bathroom. At least, that’s how he was introduced to me back when I first joined Ideal Home and he’d recently decided to ‘go it alone’ as a freelance interiors photographer. Many a trek to far-flung locations and one prized MG sports car later (best not to ask), Jamie’s become a regular contributor to the real homes department and has shot some of our loveliest houses, including Rachel’s home in Devon and Georgie’s in south west London. Let’s find out more about him and have a look at some of his favourite shots from his portfolio.

Who are you and where are you from?

I’m Jamie Mason, freelance interiors and lifestyle photographer. Originally from the North West of England, I moved to London 10 years ago and now live in Hackney, an area I like for its varied distractions and inspirations

What’s the best thing about your job?

The huge range of people and places I encounter in my work, from homeowners and designers to set builders and stylists. I’ve wanted to be a photographer from an early age and I really enjoy the freedom that comes with earning a living from something you love

And the worst?

Wires! My life would be a lot simpler without all the power cables and leads that come with me on every shoot to connect the camera, laptop and lights. Imagine the problems you get with tangled headphones and treble it

Have you ever had any shoot disasters?

Making a 200 mile round trip to shoot a house and finding no one home! But for the most part I’ve been fortunate and avoided any major disasters… so far

Describe your perfect room in five words

Spacious, light, retro, comfortable and inviting

If you weren’t a photographer, what would you be?

I’d love to be an actor or a musician, but unfortunately show no immediate talent for either!


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

