Skip to content

BEFORE & AFTER: Furniture Makeover

July 20, 2010

Emma and Jeff’s serene coastal home had been used as a holiday cottage before they moved in and they inherited some pretty tired rental furniture, like this ‘1990s Chic’ orange varnished pine shelf unit. Mmmmm.

I’m always expounding the virtues of a coat or two of eggshell to update furniture but even I might have overlooked the potential of this nasty number. But not Emma – a lick of Farrow & Ball and some new shaker-style handles and… ta dah!

Lovely or what? If you’re wondering, the colour’s Borrowed Light from Farrow & Ball. If you want to have a go at painting furniture, there’s click on this easy three-step guide or head over to Design Sponge for loads more before and after transformations. Have you ever updated or customised a piece of furniture?


One Comment leave one →
  1. January 5, 2011 7:40 am

    Oh my goodness! I love this! I recently saw a little hutch/curio for sale very similar to this online… ugghh… I didn’t jump on it! I would have loved to have painted it like this! So pretty! {I love your site!}

Leave a Reply

